In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year, three-year, or two-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a preprofessional undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the preprofessional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

The University of Arizona School of Architecture offers the following NAAB-accredited degree programs:
B. Arch. (174 undergraduate credits)
M. Arch. (preprofessional degree + 69 graduate credits)
M. Arch. (non-preprofessional degree + 103 credits)

In Spring 2016, our B.Arch and M.Arch programs were granted 8-year accreditations. The next accreditation visit for all programs is spring 2024.

General NAAB Data:

UA School of Architecture NAAB Data:



Career Development Information: