Students may pursue the Graduate Certificate in Heritage Conservation alone, or may combine it with other degrees, including the Master of Architecture (M.Arch), Master of Science in Architecture (MS.Arch), Master of Landscape Architecture (MLA), Master of Science in Planning (MSP), and Master of Art in Anthropology (MA.Anth) degrees. The student is responsible for choosing the appropriate option and, in the case of a degree program, working with the Heritage Conservation Graduate Certificate Coordinator and their degree program advisor to develop a mutually agreeable plan of study.

To be eligible for admittance into the Heritage Conservation program students must comply with the University of Arizona’s Graduate College eligibility requirements which include a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 on a 4 ­point scale from a baccalaureate degree.  Students who bring in units as a Non-Degree Seeking student, outside transfer, or a UA major other than MSP, MLA, or MS ARCH, must complete a minimum of 12 units ‘in residence’ in the certificate program. If they bring in more than 6 units from another program, they may take ARC 597B Special Projects in Architecture to complete the residence units.

Students are required to complete 18 units including an internship in order to earn the certificate. 

Graduate Certificate in Heritage Conservation Curriculum

Heritage Conservation Contacts

Coordinator, Heritage Conservation Graduate Certificate
Lecturer, School of Landscape Architecture and Planning
Program Chair, MS Architecture Heritage Conservation
Graduate Advisor, Program Coordinator
College of Architecture, Planning and Landscape Architecture
CAPLA Student Advising Center 101