Monday, September 14, 2015

The Bachelor of Architecture Sustainability Pedagogy at the UA School of Architecture has been honored with a Crescordia Award at the 35th Annual Environmental Awards Gala in Phoenix. Submitted in the category of Environmental Education/Communication: Educators, Students, and Nonprofit Organizations, the entry joined more than 125 other submittals representing 30 communities statewide. For the first time ever, entries were accepted from throughout Arizona, and the response was overwhelming. Other Crescordia Awards winners included University of Arizona Old Main Restoration and Tucson’s SunLink Modern Streetcar.

Known as the “Academy Awards” of the environmental community, the Arizona Forward’s Environmental Excellence Award is Arizona’s oldest and most prominent competition of its kind. It spotlights distinguished projects throughout the state of Arizona that demonstrate a high level of environmental commitment and contribute to the state's overall sustainability.

The coveted Crescordia Award (a Greek term that means “To Grow in Harmony”) set standards for the exceptional physical, technical and social development of our state.  Arizona Forward is a statewide non-profit organization advocating for a balance between economic development and environmental quality, and convenes business, community and civic leaders in thoughtful public dialogue on critical sustainability issues. The association is a blend of members including large and small businesses, government jurisdictions, the education and non-profit communities, as well as others that share a goal of promoting cooperation to improve the environment and quality of life in our region.  

The Sustainability Pedagogy was developed by the Sustainable Pedagogy Task Force including Paul Reimer (Chair), Siri Trumble, Shane Smith, and Brad Lang.  The program will be implemented and expanded by the Sustainable Pedagogy Committee including Shane Smith (Chair), Paul Reimer, Siri Trumble, and Courtney Crosson.

Siri Trumble, Jan Cervelli, Paul Reimer, Jan Cervelli, Paul Reimer, Siri Trumble